Response to Patrick Smalley’s “My Thoughts on the Printing Press Lecture”

The first time I read through Patrick’s opinion on the impact of Gutenberg’s Press, I automatically didn’t agree. It wasn’t until I thought about it a little more that I started to see Patrick’s point. The invention of the Printing Press, and every other event in this world, can’t be assigned a specific cause and effect model. That’s not how the world works. There are so many things that happen from point A to point B that there’s no telling, for example, that most people would or would not be literate without the Printing Press. The Printing Press was such an impactful invention, that the effect it had couldn’t be measured. On the other hand, I don’t think that’s what Mr. Miller was trying to get across to us. I think the lesson was more on how important media is to the world.

Overall, Patrick did a really good job on his response. It wasn’t shockingly long, but he still managed to get his point across. I liked how he thought outside of the box. I am used to accepting information from teachers without question, so it was refreshing to read such a different perspective on something a teacher said.  I agree with a lot of what he said.  Kudos to Patrick.

Patrick’s Response : http://averyprofessionaladress.wordpress.com/2012/09/13/my-thoughts-on-the-printing-press-lectureand-the-1qq/

Leave a Reply

